Trusting Our Unique Anchors

Recently in my studies the final lines of the 37th verse of the Tao struck me and inspired me to write for a bit. I share with you some of what came to my awareness.

“When there is silence, one finds the anchor of the universe within oneself.” 37th Verse of the Tao

As I spent time reflecting on the years that my own behavior sent the message to those around me that their “anchor” was faulty and that my knowing was “better” or more “right” than theirs, I found much to seek forgiveness for. Most of all forgiveness from myself for allowing my Ego to play such a leading role in my life.

I spent time exploring where I was coming from “back then” and found that during those times I was not basing my actions of ill intent for anyone but instead I was acting based on the beliefs that, at that time, were all I knew and what I believed to be truth.

Since that time I have learned so much about listening to my own Truth and knowing my own Spiritual Beliefs over what someone else, however well meaning, may believe is best for me. In this process I have come to accept that I am constantly learning new things, and therefore I no longer hold to beliefs with the rigidity of the Ego that is fearful of being wrong. I now allow myself to make choices based on what I know at the time, and if my knowing evolves or changes I then acknowledge that my knowing has changed so that my actions may evolve also. Actions free of judgement or shame that allow for just embracing change.

As I look ahead and see my life unfold day by day, I find that I LOVE being out of control. I learn so much by silently observing when others share what works for them, and trying new things on myself. I love the experience that comes from watching myself and others have Ah-Ha moments. I love the feeling of doing something I may have done dozens of times but trying it a new way and finding out the new way is even better than the way I was using before out of habit. I enjoy watching as others learn. I love guiding people through their own way of exploring and learning. I love this out of control feeling that has relieved so much stress and pressure from my life that I feel free and at ease.

And all of those years that I was convinced how “right” I was, well I actually have a good time appreciating all that I learned from being so “wrong”.

I trust that my internal “anchor of the universe” is perfectly guiding me along my path and that your internal “anchor of the universe” is also guiding your perfectly along your path. Knowing that we maybe having very unique experiences, we are none the less part of the greater whole of humanity and that I Trust completely!

Leave a comment